Winner of the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image award 2023

Slovenian photographer Samo Vidic is the winner of the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image award 2023 thanks to a photo taken during a training session onboard Alinghi Red Bull Racing in Barcelona (ESP).

A sports photographer for over 20 years, Samo Vidic has developed a passion for sailing while capturing images of the Extreme Sailing Series and the GC32 class. He wins the contest ahead of Samuel Cade (FRA) and Christian Bonin (CAN).

To be on board of the AC75 foiling at 40+ knots as a photographer is a privilege unlike any other,” said Samo. “Capturing photos at high speed and strong g-forces becomes a real challenge. On the day this photo was taken, we had strong winds and a big swell, as well as incredible speed. I tried to capture these elements in the photo with a slow shutter and convey the adrenalin feeling of that day.”

Samo Vidic was chosen as one of Alinghi Red Bull Racing’s official photographers for the 37th America’s Cup, and he immediately accepted the challenge. “Not many photographers get the chance to experience that!” he said.

French photographer Samuel Cade came second in the competition with a spectacular image of Charlie Dalin’s IMOCA Macif during the AZIMUT 2023 Challenge.

For me, this photo is really special because we can’t see the boat while, at the same time, we can feel the power and imagine how difficult it is to sail an IMOCA alone in the Deep South,” said Samuel.

Image: Eugenia Bakunova

Canadian Christian Bonin came third with a photo of 29ers dinghies sailing at the ABYC Seahorse Youth Regatta, showing a fascinating contrast of colours.

The environmental conditions – high sun, heat distortion, fog, low wind – and distance from the subjects (over 300 meters) pushed the photographic equipment’s capabilities to the maximum,” he said.

The Public Award, based on the number of public votes online, was won by Eugenia Bakunova (RUS), ahead of Brigi Török (HUN) and Ewan Lebourdais (FRA).

The Delegates Award, based on votes from METSTRADE’s visitors in Amsterdam, was won by Craig Greenhill (AUS) ahead of Samuel Cade (FRA) and Martina Orsini (ITA).

A total of 144 photographers, representing 30 nationalities – a new record – took part in this year’s Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image Award. The awards ceremony took place in public at the METSTRADE show in Amsterdam.

More news from All At Sea